Dorothy Parker

180pxdorothy75.jpgLast night I read a short book with three of Dorothy Parker’s short stories in it. They were Big Blonde, The Sexes and Dusk Before Fireworks. All three amused me equally. I really liked the “reality” in them. The women characters and the way they thought or acted was very realistic. The way that she portrayed relationships was also very realistic.

Dorothy Parker was a critic, satirical poet, and short-story writer. She started her career as Vanity Fair’s drama critic and moved on to the New Yorker’s theater and book reviewer. She published many books throughout her time and even wrote some films for Hollywood. She also wrote two Broadway plays.

After researching her biography and finding out that she was a “Jersey Girl” I think that explains the realistic humor in her books and stories.

Technorati Tags: , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Dorothy Parker”

  1. Sockmouth Says:

    “Jersey girls” are are humourous and realistic?? That’s not a stereotype is it??!
    What was the title of this book? I think I might like to read it!

  2. Denise Says:

    It’s that idealism of youth thing again. Michelle isn’t living there with the Jersey girls so the fondness has set in again.

    It was just one of those tiny little compilation books. I grabbed it at the FOLS for a quarter. We’ll send it to you for Mother’s Day or something.

Leave a comment